"We do not want a police state, and it seems we are on the precipice of becoming one in the name of DUI."
-Martin v. Commonwealth
DWI Defense Information
Carl David Ceder
214.702.CARL (2275) or 469-2000-DWI
Texas DWI Surcharges
With the possibility of fines, jail time and the loss of your driver’s license, you are also going to have to deal with up to $6,000 in surcharges for a DWI conviction. This is, however, if you do not hire the top Texas DWI attorney available. Your lawyer needs to be respected and experienced in order for you to have the most favorable outcome in your case.
Loss of Driving Privileges
If you have been arrested and charged with Driving While Intoxicated you probably already expect that you are going to have your license suspended for ninety days to 12 months on your fist offence or anywhere from six months to 60 months on subsequent DWI convictions. The only way to avoid this is for first offenders to agree to a probation period which usually included DWI classes. As bad as losing your driving privileges may sound, there is another consequence many are faced with who go to court without a top-notch Texas DWI lawyer: exorbitant Texas surcharges to be paid annually.
Divers convicted of DWI without having a Texas DWI attorney in their corner can expect to receive the following Driver’s License Surcharges. First Offence: $3,000 broken into $1,000 for three years Multiple Offences: $4,500 broken into $1,500 for three years Extenuating Offenders, such as a .16 percent on a blood-alcohol test: $6,000 broken into $2,000 for three years If even one payment is missed, your driving privileges will be suspended automatically. The state does not care how financially taxing this can be on the majority of the citizens, however, The Law Offices of Carl David Ceder, PLLC do.
Texas Department of Public Safety Transportation Code Loopholes
Having the best Texas DWI lawyer will come into play with these loopholes. They will already have the experience and knowledge that the DPS transportation code does not state that missing surcharge payments results in license suspensions. If you thought about going it alone in court, be aware that you already have one strike against you in that you are there on a very frowned upon charge of DWI. Your chances are greater when you have your DWI lawyer with you to fight your case and possibly keep your driving privileges even if it is impossible to keep up the surcharge payments. Your Texas DWI lawyer is also the one to turn to if you have become burdened with the surcharge payments and are on the verge of having your driver’s license suspended.
Call The Law Offices of Carl David Ceder, PLLC at 936-539-1011 now for a free consultation to end your surcharge torture.
Suspensions and Surcharges: What you need to Know
The state of Texas is infamously known for its tough laws on DWI. These laws are followed by a series of life-changing consequences ranging from driver’s license suspension to costly driver’s license surcharges, totaling $6,000 over a period of several years. Having Carl Ceder will fight aggressively to keep these surcharges affordable and time suspended shortened.
License Suspension- Get Educated
Most drivers who have been convicted of their first DWI conviction receive a license suspension in between 90-360 days. Those with a prior DWI convictions or a criminal history of vehicular crimes can have their license suspended for up to two years, especially if any prior offenses were committed within the last calendar year.
Fortunately there is an exception: a first-time offender can receive probation and complete a DWI education course during the first 180 days of the probation period, allowing them to possess their driver’s license so long as their record remains in good standing.
Without a Texas lawyer specializing in DWI defense, like Carl Ceder, you could face paying hefty surcharges on an annual basis — or risk further suspension of your driver’s license.
Driver’s License Surcharges- Don’t Pay Through the Nose!
Even though the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) claims that failure to pay these surcharges results in an automatic license suspension, the actual transportation code will not allow this action to take place.
This is where your Texas DWI lawyer, Carl Ceder can help. It is nearly impossible to fight DWI charges alone, especially with society’s negative stigma associated with people who are charged and convicted of a DWI. Carl Ceder is not only an expert on your side, he will advocate for your rights by working to ensure that your driver’s license remains in your custody and in good standing. Don’t waste another moment facing burdensome DWI charges and penalties alone. Take back your life and enlist the help and expertise of Carl Ceder today.